What do I take for granted?

25 06 2010

I’m certain I take a lot for granted.  This week we celebrated with about a dozen of our staff their “graduation” from ESL (English as a Second Language) classes.  As I’ve mentioned in a previous post we have 33 nations represented in my workplace and as of the last 5 years or so, most of those staff have come from the continent of Asia.  The ESL program was quite a success, really, and other than dollars in labour and time away from production, it didn’t cost our company much.  A real win win scenario actually – an investment in their Canadian future and our future – especially from a communication and workplace safety standpoint.  Many of these individuals have been in Canada for years and honestly, their English is poor.  But this program over 8 weeks gave them confidence in the language and workplace.  They each did a brief “presentation” in English – different scenarios in communication – in front of our Executive Team.  That’s not easy to do!  I was beaming really watching them with their energy and pride in being better versed in English.  How did they get by before?  I imagine they adapted daily to what they needed.  Just like we each do in different areas in our lives.  This morning, I ask myself, this question, “how am I adapting to what God expects of me?”  A question I will take with me today.  If you are reading this and a business owner or manager – look around you…how can your staff be trained or better adapt to your business?  One way for us was ESL training and it WILL pay off, I have no doubt.  Stay in His wakes!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

