In the North…..way North…

6 07 2010

As I wait for “Old Post” fishing adventure pics to come in, I thought I would write on what I believe is the sad state of one issue in Canada.  I’m not the first nor the last to have an opinion or write on the topic of the First Nation people in this country.  When I travel to Northern Ontario each year there is a constant – the constant state of the Northern Ontario First Nation population I witness.  There are few if ever any smiles to be seen in the First Nation community in this area – it’s a hard life especially during the long cold season.  With little else to do often, there is an alarming rate of the population with fetal alcohol syndrome and teen suicide is at record highs in this First Nation community.  As we gather to fellowship and fish on this yearly trip, the topic of the state of the First Nation people always arises and we suggest answers to many of the issues but feel little control of how to help.  Government handouts have been instilled and it is usually suggested a few at the top of the community are the ones benefiting from what generally is an apologetic government.  For lack of better words, this community has a long history of entitlement – I’ll keep my thoughts private on that topic.  Business in the North is tough (everything is flown in and the local airport is definitely busy) but those that choose short or long careers taking care of needs, by the sounds of it, are rewarded well financially.  But the First Nation people aren’t getting these employment opportunities.  We passed by a couple of churches on the local two lane highway and both my Dad and I commented, “it has to be tough pastoring a church up here”.   There is no doubt that God is present – the lush landscape, wilderness, and creatures of the North are evidence of His engineering – but the sin of man is clearly evident as well.  I can’t help but think our own business has employment development opportunities as certain trade’s in our business are hard to find but by the same token, this requires the First Nation people to leave their “native” land, history, and location.  Wish I had the answers for these children of God.  Stay in His wakes!

Actions

Information

One response

7 07 2010
Beat Alcoholism 101

In the North?..way North?…

I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

