Preparing Boys for Battle……

17 08 2010

My wife is the book queen.  When attending home school conferences which I seem to have trouble fitting in the mix of life, she is continually picking up tremendous resources for our family.  Over our vacation period I nearly finished (will do so in the coming days) a super read – “Preparing Boys for Battle” by Scott T. Brown.  If you aren’t familiar with Scott Brown or his family endeavours what I can share is that when I read his material or have watched video of his commitment to shepherding a gospel driven family, I feel VERY inferior…….but that’s a good thing.  I had a real interest in this read because it mixed Scott’s fathers story of being a pilot in the battle of Iwo Jima and what this generation of young men has meant to the freedom we enjoy but he takes many lessons from the battle field and applies them into “A Father Must” section in each chapter.  If I can put it all together in preparing my boys for life I will feel as though I’ve conquered the enemy in so many ways.  Messages within include, “don’t waste your youth”, “lead courageously” (fits appropriately into the definition of a man as I’ve come to know it – see “Quest for Authentic Manhood by Robert Lewis”), “the world is not your home”, “pull your weight”, “consider it joy when you encounter trials”, etc.  In the least, I hope mentioning this read inspires followers in some small way to stay active with their children and preparing them for the battle of life.  Stay in His wakes!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

