Respecting change……

12 04 2011

1 Peter 3:15 reads, “but in your hearts honour Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect…”.  I find myself in a palace of gentleness and respect as our small world as a family changes around us.  With our move to the Hills of Halton and the nature we enjoy, one world of our son’s is hockey, and it is about to change just because of our address.  The world we knew, the coaches and parents we spent hours with at the rink will be no more.  Did I stay in His wakes during these times?  I confess I don’t think so minute by minute.  Tonight our eldest son will try out for a new team.  In the past he was generally courted to play on a team and the “try outs” were somewhat of a formality as his Dad had already committed him to next season.  Well, we’re collectively on our own now and will go to a rink we don’t know, coaches and parents that don’t know who we are in character and talent (not me, the boy’s!) and trying to carve our way into a new hockey reality.  What I’m most proud about is that our eldest, although nervous just as I am for him, approaches this evening with respect and gentleness.  I’m preparing myself for his defense, and we’re trying to approach what really is an event, relative to Our Father, that isn’t all that important I suppose.  I know he will do well, but should this not be the team for him next year, I will wonder why such a classy kid and a good family may not be “chosen”.  Hopefully we collectively approach this uncertainty with the gentleness and respect expected of us as His followers.  Wishing my son safety and the best he can do this evening.  Stay in His wakes!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

