How does one keep the heart of a child……

6 06 2011

As life continues and we attempt to rear our children into reception of the arms of the Almighty, Christ Himself, my wife and I continually dialogue about what, why, how, etc. we can do both together and separately to keep the hearts of our children as long as we possibly can.  By this, we don’t mean clenching their hearts selfishly (although admittedly there is probably some of that) but keeping their hearts for Christ in this world rather than them turning toward and of this world.  We enjoyed this past weekend the first dip in the pool for our now 5 month old daughter (caught on camera for good-by my wife as always!) – it was a reminder to me as I held her close to my heart of the precious wonder of God and his creations around us.  She is His and I am so good with that!

The only thing missing, of course, was Mom in the pool but that’s because the rough stuff was about to begin……

….enter full contact “keep the football” water tackle……and one more way to have my boys cling to me – my heart to theirs, one moment at a time.  At church this past Sunday we heard a message including Hebrews 11:30, “By faith, the walls of Jericho fell down after they had been encircled for seven days”, a reminder, by faith, that we as parents must be patient with God’s will and timing in the lives of us and our children.  I don’t know about you, this can be painfully tough as I make mistake after mistake as a parent, forgetting that the most important job I have as a parent, is not to have my kids please me, but please Him.  Stay in His wakes!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

