Old Post 2011……

29 08 2011

The summer has flown by and I look forward to getting back to journaling things that interest me, keep me grounded, and hopefully bless those that read my thoughts just the same.  This summer my boys and I, plus my two nephews, plus my best friend/business partner and brother, plus our father, who is about to celebrate his 70 years on earth – ventured off to one of my favourite places in the world – The Old Post & Village on Lake St. Joseph (www.oldpost.com).  Below is shortly after our arrival:

My eldest son and I were together with my father in 2010 at The Old Post, but this was a trip for the memory bank in many respects.  Three “elder” Macgregors flying on the same plane with our boys, three potential generations in the hands of God made for pressing nerves back at the home front which is more than understandable.  We made it to and fro unharmed, the Lord was with us and has plans for the coming days is my take!  My youngest son caught his first big fish (actually a small one) on the back beach just moments after we arrived and the look on his face………….well, only I will know………..but it was priceless, mixed in with a little fisherman’s dance and he seemed “hooked”.  It wasn’t near the fish he struggled just to hold up in the picture below:

This is what we refer to as landing the “gator” – defined as a Northern Pike which is 36″ or more from end to end.  This bad boy was 40 1/4 ” in length.  Although the cousins were busy entertaining themselves in ways that kids do, I did try to take a brief moment at bed time to read scripture and end the day well.  Proverbs 19:20 was shared “Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future” – we’re working on these boys and their character and trying to get them to listen to what we have to share……..it’s hard work this parenting thing at times.  The veteran of the cousin group was the “gator” champ in 2010, and this year had his own victories.  Not quite in the 40″ plus club like the prior year, this one just shy at 39 1/2″.  Still a monster:

Of great significance was time with my brother – a fisherman he is not – furthest from it actually – with little words said throughout the trip as we were always in a different boat, I believe in brotherhood – blood brotherhood – there is a bond that reaches beyond words, beyond time – and when your older brother is left somewhat speechless in our Old Post endeavours, that is proof enough that we all belonged together on this adventure.  Even better, when the guy who doesn’t know what he’s doing, catches the biggest fish (and he was patient waiting days to get it!), it’s even more exhilarating:

A friend of mine joked, “too bad he didn’t want to hold the fish but decided to hold the guide instead!!” – my brother will comment – who cares – 44 1/2″ was on the end of MY line, not yours.  Good on ya, bro!  Memories, they come in all shapes and sizes in life – I’m blessed to have a healthy family to share Old Post 2011 memories.  Praise God!  Stay in His wakes!

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 08 2011
PWM

I like the way you hold your sunfish up real close to the camera, Dunc! What was that, about a 7 1/2 inch beauty?

30 08 2011
me

Love it! A true fisherman knows that there is a ‘way’ to hold a fish. Looks good though!! Can’t slip by PWM Duncan!! He knows the tricks of ‘sunfish’.

Words can’t describe how much it means to me to see the boys leave young and return slightly older maybe wiser?? Thanks for giving them a chance to bond with the men and boys!

9 09 2011
Julian

Love this, Dunc. God is so good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

