Marital strength……

7 11 2011

We are to find strength in Christ alone if Christians and true followers of Him alone.  I try to live on that strength throughout each day.  Christ has given me the ultimate gift of the strength I need in my spouse and through the day, more and more as we grow together, I gather that strength in ways my wife may never know as I’m not great at articulating what she does for me.  She shared today’s homeschool verse for the day, the verse our kids will write out in their copy work – Job 23:8-12 – “Behold , I go forward, but he is not there, and backward, but I do not perceive him; on the left hand when he is working, I do not behold him; he turns to the right hand, but I do not see him.  But he knows the way that I take; when he has tried me, I shall come out as gold.  My foot has held fast to his steps; I have kept his way and have not turned aside.  I have not departed from the commandment of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my portion of food.” Take what you will from the passage – for me, it’s a sign that my spouse cares deeply about our spiritual connection and that this needs to be the strength of our bond in marriage.  We sin greatly as a couple – I don’t listen enough, I harbour anger, I can be selfish – and she ultimately sees these flaws, yet forgives me just as Christ has by suffering on the cross for my sins.  Today, if you read this, do what I hope to do this evening….pray with my wife, connect as the kids are put to sleep (Lord willing!) for the evening, and the opportunity to simply thank her for strengthening me during this day.  Stay in His wakes!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

