Rotten Shark…..

13 12 2011

OK, so I like to think I know a thing or two about protetin……the centre-of-the-plate….whether beef, fish, pork, …….or dessert.  I consider myself an encyclopedia when it comes to the benefit of properly aging beef, whether wet-aging or dry-aging.  But I knew nothing of this recent new “learn”.  Tradition – we all live it in special and unique ways in our lives.  I have Christmas traditions in my home and my wife and I are making our own traditions when it comes to this time of year and remembering/celebrating the birth of Christ.  But this is something that just needs a journal entry.  Now, I haven’t tried “rotten shark” but recently a staff member of ours travelled to Iceland to visit the home of our Arctic Char supply.  He can attest to this:

Chef Anthony Bourdain, who has travelled extensively throughout the world sampling local cuisine for his Travel Channel show No Reservations, has described rotten shark as “the single worst, most disgusting and terrible tasting thing” he has ever eaten.   Chef Gordon Ramsay challenged journalist James May to sample three “delicacies” (Laotian snake whiskey, bull penis, and hákarl) on The F Word; Ramsay then vomited after eating hákarl, although May kept his down. May’s only reaction was, “You disappoint me, Ramsay.”

I’m no Gordon Ramsay fan although I respect his clear talent for cuisine (I don’t like that he has to belittle every individual he comes across that might not be as “good” or “godlike” like he is) – so I got a kick out above.  In any case – check out the You Tube clip.  Respect tradition and Stay in His wakes!

http://youtu.be/mbYqznD0R5M

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 12 2011
Murray Robinson

I would rather have a stay from Macgregors any day
Murray

13 12 2011
Murray Robinson

That should read steak

Leave a Reply

